

Resources Board

Agenda

Thursday, 22 June 2017 11.00 am

Rooms A&B, Ground Floor, Layden House, 76-86 Turnmill Street, London, EC1M 5LG



Guidance notes for members and visitors Layden House, 76-86 Turnmill Street, London, EC1M 5LG

Please read these notes for your own safety and that of all visitors, staff and tenants.

Welcome!

Layden House is located directly opposite the Turnmill Street entrance to Farringdon station, which is served by the Circle, Hammersmith & City, and Metropolitan lines as well as the Thameslink national rail route.

Security

Layden House has a swipe card access system meaning that a swipe enabled security passes will be required to access the lifts and floors 1-5.

Most LGA governance structure meetings will take place on the **ground floor** of Layden House which is open access and therefore does not require a swipe enabled security pass. **Access** to the rest of the building (floors 1-5) is via swipe enabled security passes.

When you visit Layden House, please show your Local Government House security pass to reception and they will provide you with a temporary pass which will allow you access to floors 1 5 if required. Please don't forget to sign out at reception and return your security pass when you depart.

If you do not have a LGH Security Pass, please email <u>member services</u> with your name and a recent photo and a pass will be made for you. You can pick this up from the Layden House reception desk on your next visit.

Fire instructions

In the event of the fire alarm sounding, vacate the building immediately via the nearest fire exit onto Turnmill Street and take the next turning on your left – Benjamin Street to St John's Gardens. DO NOT USE THE LIFTS.

DO NOT STOP TO COLLECT PERSONAL BELONGINGS.

DO NOT RE-ENTER BUILDING UNTIL AUTHORISED TO DO SO.

Soft Seating Area

There is a small soft seating area on Floor 2 which will also operate as an 'Open Council' area for visiting members and officers from member councils. Please note however that unlike Open Council, this area does not have tea and coffee facilities, nor access to computers.

Toilets

There are accessible toilets on the Ground Floor, 2nd and 4th floors.

Accessibility

If you have special access needs, please let the meeting contact know in advance and we will do our best to make suitable arrangements to meet your requirements.

Parking is available at the rear of the building for Blue Badge holders, accessed via the Turks Head Yard, North underpass. Disabled WCs are situated on the ground and 4th floors. An induction loop system is available in the 5th floor conference venue. For further information please contact the Facilities Management Helpdesk on 020 7664 3015.



Guest WiFi in Layden House

WiFi is available in Layden House for visitors. It can be accessed by enabling "Wireless Network Connection" on your computer and connecting to LGA-Free-WiFi. You will then need to register, either by completing a form or through your Facebook or Twitter account (if you have one). You only need to register the first time you log on.

Further help

Please speak either to staff at the main reception on the ground floor, if you require any further help or information. You can find the LGA website at www.local.gov.uk

Why have the LGA's Headquarters moved?

The LGA has temporarily relocated from Local Government House (LGH) in Smith Square to Layden House in Farringdon, effective from Monday 31 October 2016. This is to allow extensive refurbishment work to be carried out to LGH.

The refurbishment works will see the ground floor conference centre and all meeting rooms fully refurbished. Floors 1, 2 and 3 will be upgraded and released for commercial letting to enable the LGA to maximise the income from this building as part of its drive for financial sustainability. A new and larger Open Council will be located on the seventh floor. The refurbishment is expected to last for nine months and we expect to be back in LGH by September 2017.

We appreciate your understanding and flexibility during this time.



Resources Board 22 June 2017

There will be a meeting of the Resources Board at **11.00 am on Thursday**, **22 June 2017** Rooms A&B, Ground Floor, Layden House, 76-86 Turnmill Street, London, EC1M 5LG.

A sandwich lunch will be available following the meeting.

Attendance Sheet:

Please ensure that you sign the attendance register, which will be available in the meeting room. It is the only record of your presence at the meeting.

Political Group meetings:

The group meetings will take place in advance of the meeting. Please contact your political group as outlined below for further details.

Apologies:

<u>Please notify your political group office (see contact telephone numbers below) if you are unable to attend this meeting.</u>

 Conservative:
 Group Office:
 020 7664 3223
 email:
 lgaconservatives@local.gov.uk

 Labour:
 Group Office:
 020 7664 3334
 email:
 Labour.GroupLGA@local.gov.uk

 Independent:
 Group Office:
 020 7664 3224
 email:
 independent.grouplga@local.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat: Group Office: 020 7664 3235 email: libdem@local.gov.uk

Location:

A map showing the location of Layden House is printed on the back cover.

LGA Contact:

Paul Goodchild

0207 664 3005 / paul.goodchild@local.gov.uk

Carers' Allowance

As part of the LGA Members' Allowances Scheme a Carer's Allowance of up to £7.50 per hour is available to cover the cost of dependants (i.e. children, elderly people or people with disabilities) incurred as a result of attending this meeting.



Resources Board – Membership 2016/2017

Councillor	Authority	
Conservative (7)		
Cllr John Fuller (Vice Chairman)	South Norfolk District Council	
Cllr Nigel Ashton	North Somerset Council	
Cllr James Jamieson	Central Bedfordshire Council	
Cllr Lynne Duffy	Wychavon District Council	
Cllr Barry Macleod-Cullinane	Harrow Council	
Cllr Roger Phillips	Herefordshire Council	
Clir David Renard		
Ciii David Renard	Swindon Borough Council	
Substitutes		
Cllr Andrew Leadbetter	Exeter City Council	
Cllr Judith Oliver	North Norfolk District Council	
Labour (7)		
Cllr Claire Kober OBE (Chair)	Haringey Council	
Cllr Rishi Shori	Bury Metropolitan Borough Council	
Clir Aaron Shotton	Flintshire County Council	
Cllr Sian Timoney	Luton Borough Council	
Cllr Tom Beattie	Corby Borough Council	
Clir Sarah Hayward	Camden Council	
Clir Peter Marland	Milton Keynes Council	
CIII Feter Ivianand	Million Reynes Council	
Substitutes		
Cllr Norman Keats	Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council	
Cllr Abdul Jabbar	Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council	
Cllr Christopher Massey	Redcar & Cleveland Borough Council	
Independent (2)		
Cllr Clarence Barrett (Deputy Chair)	Havering London Borough Council	
Cllr Linda Van den Hende	Havering London Borough Council	
Substitutes		
Cllr Bob Dutton OBE	Wrexham County Borough Council	
Clir Alan Walters	Rutland County Council	
Cllr Mike Eathorne-Gibbons	Cornwall Council	
Oil Mike Fathome-Gippolis	Contiwali Council	

Liberal Democrat (2)	
Cllr Claire Hudson (Deputy	Mendip District Council
Chair)	
Cllr Simon Shaw	Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council
Substitutes	
Cllr David Brown	Borough of Poole



Agenda

Resources Board

Thursday 22 June 2017

11.00 am

Rooms A&B, Ground Floor, Layden House, 76-86 Turnmill Street, London, EC1M 5LG

	Item	Page
1.	Apologies and Declarations of Interest	
2.	Action on Low Pay	1 - 6
3.	The Conservative Party's Manifesto Pledges Related to the Work of the Board	7 - 14
4.	Local Government Finance Update	15 - 18
5.	Workforce Update	19 - 22
6.	Minutes of the previous meeting	23 - 30
	PART 2 - CONFIDENTIAL	Page
7.	Report of the Commercial Advisory Board	31 - 38
8.	Future of Funding Currently Sourced from the EU	39 - 40
	a) Appendix A - Beyond Brexit	41 - 63

Date of Next Meeting: Friday, 22 September 2017, 11.00 am, Smith Square 3&4, Ground Floor, Local Government House, Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ